The following appeared in an editorial in the Mason City newspaper.

"At present, Mason City residents seldom use the nearby Mason River for any kind of recreational activity, even though surveys of the region's residents consistently rank water sports (swimming, fishing, and boating) as a favorite form of recreation. Since there have been complaints about the quality of the water in the river, residents must be avoiding the river because they think that it is not clean enough. But that situation is about to change: the agency responsible for rivers in our region has announced plans to clean up Mason River. Therefore, recreational use of the river is likely to increase, so the Mason City council will need to increase its budget for improvements to the publicly owned lands along the Mason River."

In the given passage, the author has concluded that the city government must devote more money to the year's budget to riverside recreational facilities. He has based this on the fact that, the State has recently announced its plans to clean up Mason River. A major weak point in his argument, is that he has based this conclusion, on the assumption, that the major cause for the dearth in water sport activities, is the poor quality of water, and the foul smell. .

The author's assumption is fundamentally incorrect. The assumption implies that the residents rarely used the river for water sport activities, solely because it was unclean, and smelled bad. There may have been several other factors due to which the river may not have been used, such as the following:

Firstly, there might have been several life threatening creatures in the water, such as crocodiles, or alligators. How do we know that this wasn't the reason for the lack of water sport activities in the river? If this were true, the state's plan to clean up the river may not have any effect on the number of people participating in water sport activities in the same water body. The people are obviously going to be more concerned with their own safety than enjoying water sports.

Secondly, the author believes that the modicum of water sport participation in this river, was due to the several complaints handed in by residents, regarding the quality of the water, and the river's smell. What if these complaints were sent by people who were not interested in water sport activities. These complaints might have been purely for aethetic reasons, and for health concerns. Thus, the author is looking at the issue from a completely incorrect angle.

Therefore, in order to strengthen his argument, and make it more cogent, the author must provide us with several proofs. First he must prove that the quality of water and the smell were the main reason for the dearth in water sport activities in the river. He must also prove that devoting more money towards the riverside recreational facilities, is the best way to ameliorate the condition of the river. And finally he must link this improvement in quality with the 'supposed 'increase in water sport activity here.