The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author states that the citizens of Forsythe are living healthier lifestyles because they adopted a nutrition regime prescribed by the government years ago and also observing the trends in the sales of food products that might indicate the health of the person.

While this might seem plausible, it is rife with many vague assumptions and logical flaws.

Firstly, the scope and validity of the survey are to be questioned. What kind of questions were asked? were they exhaustive or representative? Another important thing to consider is the number of people who were surveyed. For example, if the survey had taken people who go for gym regularly then it will be biased. Thus without knowing the authenticity of the survey, further conclusions are difficult to make.

Secondly, the government nutritional recommendations were given ten years ago. Following that may necessarily not lead to a healthier life. There might have been newer products in he market that was not there in the past which may be more efficient.It is also possible that the government's recommendations were not successful and it is not anymore prescribed by them.

There might be new diet regimes that fit the demand of the present. The lifestyle of past and present may significantly vary. For instance, 10 years back, people might have been involved in the more physical activity and healthy eating, thus requiring less correction in their regime but in present the conditions might have altered. They might have reduced the time they dedicated for exercises because of work load or they indulge in food that contains extra fat and bad cholesterol. Blindly adopting the same course as 10 years ago may be futile, or worse detrimental.

Moreover, the increase in the sales of the product Kiran does not necessarily mean that more people are consuming it. It can be possible that few groups of people are actively buying it while rest of them are not. If an group or organization is buying it in wholesale for selling it for retail or if scientists are ordering in bulk for further studies then it will significantly weaken the argument. Thus the data of customers buying the product and the frequency of it is important. Also, the scope of scientific studyis questionable, whether they did a thorough study or is it an ongoing research? How many subjects were tested for this purpose? etc...

Another major flaw is the assumption that reduced consumption of sulia leads to healthier living. While it may be possible, the healthier citizens might have stoped eating because of various reasons like cost or another competitive product that arrived in the market with better results etc..

In conclusion, the author's claim that citizens of Forsythe have adopted a more healthier lifestyle needs further careful analysis and data to corroborate it. It contains many logical fallacies that needs to be addressed before making a claim.