The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of this certain letter claims that reducing rental limits for moped-stalls in Balmer Island during summers, whence the population culminates up to a populated 100,000 will reduce the current rate of accidents taking place. The argument tries to pinpoint to a nebulous conclusion based on a slippery slope of unhinged assumptions and we'll be noting them one-by-one.

Firstly, author states that the moped-renting regulation laws that were applied to Seaville last year will be as helpful to Balmer Islands as they were to the former city. However the author fails to entertain the plausible fact that Balmer Islands seems like a vacation spot in summers that accounts for the peak attendance during that time-period; while no information is given regarding Seaville's tourist-acclaimation. Is Seaville a tourist-spot? Is Seaville as known a tourist destination as Balmer Islands? Does it recieve a close, if not equal, share of attendance during the summer?

Secondly, the author fails to provide necessary causes for the accidents in Balmer Islands. For all we know, the accidents could simply take place because of bad road-management and traffic-regulations. Are Balmer Island's roads & traffic-services impeccable?

If not, this would together surely concoct into ambrosia of mishappenings.

Moreover, the author fails to see the flaw in the system of vendors. The moped-rentals might provide their services to underage customers without checking for proof in order to maximize their profit regardless of safety-concerns. This could critically challenge the author's bold assumption.

Lastly, while the author compares the applied laws to Seaville and their effects on the reduction of accidents alike, it fails to take into account the critical causes of accidents.

Where the accidents solely because of mopeds?

Does the geographical terrain of an 'island' fare well with its road-designs?

How does the road-plans of Balmer Islands compare to that of SeaVille? How are the traffic services comparatively?

Perhaps Seaville had a flawless road-plan or to fulfill that area, it also included ameliorating the same; maybe it also improved its traffic-regulation. A lot of factors could've contributed to the successful curb of accidents.

Conclusively, the author could strengthen his argument if he provided some of the requisite details such as, A. provided information of Seaville's hold on tourist-activities & peak attendance data. B. A comparative short-study of Seaville's road-plans and traffic-regulations as opposed to Balmer Islands'. C. Provided data regarding other plans that helped curb Seaville's accident-rates.

Unless the author provides evidentiary support as necessarily mentioned above, the conclusion stays unsubstantiated upon a balance of probability. Reducing the rental-limits does not necessarily mean reduction in accidents.