The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author' s argument is based on a number of assumptions and lacks any proper reasoning as to how or why limiting moped rental would help reduce the number of accidents.

Firstly, the author claimed that mopeds are a popular form of transportation on Balmer Island. However, they have not mentioned how they arrived at this conclusion. Was a survey conducted? Or have they approximated this based on their personal experience.

Further, while the author has mentioned the population increase to 100000, they have failed to provide a detailed statistics of the population which is imperative in order to discern whether this increase is significant, and whether this surplus consists of people who can drive mopeds at all.

The author has also failed to consider that the mopeds could be a form of public transportation like a taxi service. In such a scenario, curbing moped rentals would do nothing to reduce accidents as most taxi services use their own vehicles.

Their bold assumption that reducing the number of mopeds would lead to annual reduction in moped accidents like the neighboring island has three faults. First, simply reducing the number of vehicles isn' t sufficient to reduce accidents. The drivers as well as pedestrians need to be briefed on the importance of road safety time and again. Second, while this method may be successful during the summer months, if the frequency of accidents throughout the rest of the year is high, an annual reduction in unachievable. Finally, the author' s assumption that restriction on rentals will help reduce accidents in Balmer Island solely because it worked in another town portrays him as a naive person, thus reducing his credibility.

Although the author' s recommendation may be successful, they have failed to provide sufficient evidence to make a convincing argument as to how or why it may work.