The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette.

"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighbouring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

To begin with, the road accidents in Balmer is a topic that needs careful scrutiny. The author of the letter has concluded that, reduction in number of rental mopeds will result in a decline in road accidents in summer season at Balmer. There may exist people who assert that the population increase in Balmer in summer season increases renting mopeds. People may dispute that rental mopeds are the prime source of accidents and those who affirm that. There may be few who believe that Balmer is similar to Seaville in all transportation aspects. Although, the author's claim may well have merit, he has presented a poorly reasoned argument that is built upon several questionable premises that falls apart under high level of scrutiny.

Primarily, the prime flaw with author's reasoning is his baseless assumptions. The author has claimed that Balmer's popular transportation is mopeds and the population increases in summer season. But he fails to expand the link between population increase and the renting of mopeds in summer season. There exists no proof to support that the population increase leads to increase in road accidents. The population increase may not even be related to road accidents. The author undermines his argument by failing to provide tangible correlation between population increase and moped road accidents that he presumes to exist.

In addition to relying on unfound hypotheses, the author camouflages his lack of irrefutable evidences by equivocating throughout the argument. The author states that, confining the renting of mopeds will bring down road accidents. But he fails to provide any conclusive evidence regarding the statistics that strengthens his cause. There is no legitimate evidence for affirming that majority of the road accidents are due to mopeds that are rented. In reality, the cause of road accidents might not even be related to mopeds. The use of ambiguous language proves that the scope and validity of author's argument is void.

Furthermore, the author derives many inferences that remain debatable at the best. The author dogmatically delineates that reduction of renting mopeds in Seaville will have the same effect in Balmer. There exists no irrefutable statistics that juxtaposes the transportation system in Seaville and Balmer. Seaville may have had mopeds as the major source of road accidents, and it may not be the case in Balmer. There are no information regarding the similarity between traffic regulations of both the places. The premise over which the argument rests is devoid of legal evidentiary support and remains a travesty.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the dubious information and logical fallacies of the argument, the cause is certainly credible. Road accident is a major issue and must not be taken lightly. Extensive researches, statistic data analysis must be carried out to analyse the cause of road accidents and effective measures must be taken by enforcing new laws or regulations. If the author, fails to provide satisfactory proofs and research findings pertaining to this issue his viewpoint will remain largely negated.