The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author recommends that the government of Batavia should regulate the retail milk prices to ensure fair pricing for the consumers. He supports this recommendation by stating that farmers are making extra profit from apparently increased supply of milk.He mentions that in the last 10 years , number of dairy farms have increased by 25% and the price of milk has doubled , to support the claim.The facts presented are incomplete and do not make a cogent case for the recommendation to involve government.

The cost of milk production and supply may have increased for the farmers over the years.Thus prices have increased.The price has not increased overnight ,it took a decade to increase. We should take into account inflation ,increase in the cost of animal rearing and other factors ,before making vague comparison in prices of milk a decade apart.

We should also note the demand and supply principle in economics. The author has pointed out that 25% farms have increased. He does not mention the increase in volume of milk production and if it is sufficient for the current population. Maybe due to increased demand the product price has gone up.

The author assumes that the farmers are making excessive profits over excessive supply of milk without providing any proof to validate this allegation. It is difficult to digest such statements without verifying their veracity.

The author contends that government regulation will reduce prices . Though it is possible that government may issue inspection certificates to dairy farmers for supplying quality product. To get certified and maintain extra regulation more funds are utilised by farmers. The extra cost ultimately percolates to the consumer. Thus it may also lead to an increase in retail milk prices per gallon.

In the last 10 years , the economic growth and population has also increased. Greater population requires more quantities of milk . Also cost of milk production may have increased. Increase in price needs to be verified with proper research . Involving the government to regulate the retail prices should lead to fair prices , but it is in no way guaranteed that it will lead to reduced prices . Thus all the arguments provided by the author fail to establish that the recommendation is valid.