The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

The author of the letter claims that despite the increase in the number of dairy farms throughout the country, the milk price at the local Excello Food Market has increased. hence, the author suggests enforcing the regulations on milk prices. The argument presented by the author is based on faulty reasoning and many assumptions. We need to scrutinize these assumptions in order to evaluate the soundness of the argument.

Firstly, the author says that there is an increase in the number of dairy farms throughout the country but it is also possible that this increase in numbers may be in a very short period and then the numbers were almost similar for the rest of the period in the span of 10 years. This suggests that there may be low prices of milk for a small period of time and then due to inflation, the price of milk has increased. Inflation plays an important role in the value of any product. It is possible that inflation was very low 10 years ago and now it is sky-rocketing. There is also a possibility that there may have an increase in the prices of land, electricity, fuel, and wages of labor which in turn resulted in an increase in the prices of milk.

Secondly, the author has not considered the population of Batavia which may have increased drastically over the span of 10 years. The consumer of milk and milk products may have increased over time. There may have increased in sweet shops, Food factories using milk and Bakeries in the region which have caused more consumption of milk. Additionally, the author has talked about the milk price of Excello Food Market only, there may be other markets in which the milk price may be lower than the Excello Food Market. The author argues that the regulation of the milk prices will ensure fair prices for consumers but this does not hold any water as what will happen if milk suppliers will strike and protest against this regulation as their profit margin will decrease or they will be in loss with this regulation. Under this chaotic scenario, the milk supply will be disrupted and the supply of milk will decrease which will eventually cause a further increase in the milk prices.

To sum up, the argument is based on many fallacies and faulty reasoning. There are many assumptions which the author has ignored. Without considering them it is not possible to conclusively say that the regulation will ensure fair prices of milk.