The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper.

"The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument of the editor of a Batavia newspaper attempts to bridge a relationship between the high milk prices for consumers and excessive profits for dairy farms. However it may be true that dairy farms earn a lot of money because of the higher milk prices this letter have to require more information and details. There are certain important questions unanswered and facts unnoticed leading to a number of mistaken assumptions and logical flaws.

First of all, the author claims that the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has doubled compared to 10 years ago. However, the author describes a small piece of the whole milk market. In the article, there is nothing written down about the prices farmers have to pay to feed the cows, to maintain milking machines, to pay for milk transport and to pay for medication. In 10 years there is a possibility that those prices increased a lot which makes a higher milk price in the food market plausible. In addition, there is a possibility that the supermarkets make a lot of money instead of the farmers if only the prices in the supermarket increased. Even as the government which could earn money by taxes.

The author claims that prices in Excello Food Market increase from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. He based his argument on the fact that there is an increased price in one supermarket. There is no information available about the prices in other supermarkets. Even as information about the origin of the milk in this supermarket, it may occur that this supermarket buys milk from other countries.

The author noticed that there are 25 percent more dairy farms than there were 10 years ago. An increased amount of farms means also more competition between farmers which lead to lower profits. If there are more farmers the take-off per farmer is lower which indicated lower profits.

In addition, a grow of daily farms over 10 years is quite normal because of the increased population.

So to conclude, the argument lacks information and seems to provide inchoate assumptions. The report has presented more concrete evidence to support the claim and make the argument more cogent. To make his argument more convincing there has to be more information about the overall milk prices related to the profits that farmers make.