The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner."Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central

In the preceding argument, the store owners in the Central Plaza attributed a decrease in shoppers to skateboarders in the plaza, and thus recommend the government to prohibit skateboarding in the plaza to save their business. Although this argument seems apealling at first glance, upon careful scrutinity, it is rife with wholes and flaws.

Firstly, it cannot be sure if skateboarding in the plaza is the main reason why the Central Plaza shops witnessed a drop in shoppers in the past two years. It seems reasonable, but the attraction of a shopping center is defined by many other factors. For example, it is possible that another modern shopping center with more high-quality goods and more affordable prices just opened two years ago near the Central Plaza, and gained popularity gradually, attracting more shoppers who once loved the Central Plaza to that store. Thus, a more thorough investigation with professional analysis should be carried out to reveal the main reason why fewer people now shop at the Central Plaza.

What's more, the author believed skateboarders also bring about lots of litter and vandalism, which is another factor discouraging people from visiting the shops. Although it is true the skateboard users can be annoying, but we do not know if indeed they are responsible for those litter and vandalism. Again, a more complicated survey and observation is in need. For instance, it could be that the government are not investing enough money to maintain the whole square, leading to a worse environment.

Last not least, based on the arguments in the letter, the author stated prohibing skateboarding in the plaza will definitely save the worsen business to previous level. It may be true that less skateboard users allows for a peaceful and clean plaza, but the connection between no skateboarding and high business level is not concrete. The skateboard players are also potential customers, and totally prohibiting them may not be able to accelerate business in Central Plaza greatly to the previous level.

Summing up, it is undeniable that inhibiting skateboard in the palaz will be helpful for a better and quiter environment, but perhaps not enough to revitalize the business in the Central Plaza. In fact, a more complicated and thorough solution is need, following thorough market analysis and investigations.