The following appeared as a letter to the editor from the owner of a skate shop in Central Plaza.

"Two years ago the city council voted to prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. They claimed that skateboard users were responsible for litter and vandalism that were keeping other visitors from coming to the plaza. In the past two years, however, there has been only a small increase in the number of visitors to Central Plaza, and litter and vandalism are still problematic. Skateboarding is permitted in Monroe Park, however, and there is no problem with litter or vandalism there. In order to restore Central Plaza to its former glory, then, we recommend that the city lift its prohibition on skateboarding in the plaza."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the letter avers that the prohibition on skateboarding in Central Plaza should be lifted. To support his idea, the writer mentions some evidence that skateboarding is not problematic and its revival would be beneficial for the plaza. However, such types of evidence are based on unwarranted assumptions or logical fallacies. The scrutiny of the statements of the owner, who writes the letter, would reveal such flaws.

To begin with, it appears that the author does not present any concrete data. Although he remarks that there has only been a small increase in the amount of visitors to Central Plaza, he does not show any statistical data. Thus, it is not possible to clarify if the increase rate has been low. It is likely that the author underestimates the increased number of visitors. Similarly, the owner also does not state the concrete figure of accidents including litter and vandalism. While he claims that these problems still exist in the plaza, the amount of such accidents might decrease over two years. For example, the reported cases of vandalism or litter might decline by twenty or thirty percent. In this case, the level of seriousness of the aforementioned litter and vandalism cannot be said the same compared to the previous years.

Furthermore, the example of Monroe Park does not support the argument of the author as it can be a specific case that cannot be generalized. For instance, it is probable that the number of individuals who enjoy skateboarding in Monroe Park has already been low. Besides the park may be distant from the main residential areas and therefore skateboarders simply prefer other places to the park. Without examination of such factors, the comparison between Central Plaza and Monroe Park cannot be cited as evidence of the main idea of the author.

In addition, it is highly questionable what the former glory of the plaza is. As the author admits, there has been an increase in the number of visitors to the plaza even though he adds that the increase rate is low. Thus, it is not possible to state that the plaza has lost its glory if the plaza has been filled with more visitors than two years ago. If the author intends to argue that the plaza has declined, he has to prove that the number of visitors has fallen or the maintenance level of the plaza has been worse.

Finally, it should be also doubted if the only reason skateboarding was banned is the related litter and vandalism. While the author mentions them as the only reason of prohibition, it is likely that the city considered various factors and made a conclusion that skateboarding is not fit for the plaza but deleterious in general. For instance, the city might witness that other visitors, such as bicycle riders or walkers, had been irritated by the behaviors of skateboarders. It is also possible that the plaza itself is not appropriate for specific activities including skateboarding because of its narrow space or neighboring structures that restrict outdoor activities. Thus, although it is right that the concern for letter and vandalism is excessive, there may be other considerations that cannot be influenced by the argument of the author.

In conclusion, the opinion of the owner is not cogent unless he adds more concrete data to validate his idea. For example, he should compare the accident rates between the present and the previous years. Without this sort of effort, it is not reasonable to admit his conclusion.