The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The argument given above is based on a faulty reasoning and assumptions. One cannot simply assume that all the conditions that exist at Oceania University are prevailing at Seatown University.

The most common assumption is the free tuition policy will attract professors based on study conducted in Oceania university. The faculty at Oceania university must be having the college aged children. So the policy implemented their would be beneficial. But we cannot firmly say that all the professors in Seatown University also have children between age of 18-22. A professor who is bachelor or just married may not have child. Hence the policy won't necessarily lure him. Unless a survey is conducted, we cannot know for sure. Thus, it would be wrong to just implement the policy without necessary investigation.

Also, the professors must believe that the education facilities provided at Oceania University are good. Hence they are inclined towards sending their children to college at Oceania University. But it cannot be said that Seatown University provides the same level of education. It must be the average rated college or below average as well. If this is the case, even if the policy is implemented, it is likely that professors will consider some other college than Seatown. As a result their won't be positive effective policy. It would be waste of resources additionally. There are many cases where just because of job pay grade people work at particular place but they don't respect it.

Moreover, the apathy towards working in Seatown university might also be the reason. People hate to work where conditions are not good. May it be financial conditions, health conditions, job security, work load, etc. The result of this is lack of interest towards work. If such conditions exist in Seatown University, people will not like to work there. A professor who have to travel 30 miles daily from his home to University would be frustrated eventually. He might choose to quit the job. Thus, implementing a free tuition policy will not be fruitful.

If assumptions above are similar to that of Oceania University, there might be a chance for free tuition policy for attract the professors. Even then a complete study is necessary to reach any conclusion.