The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument is on a letter written to the president of Seatown University by the faculty committee appealing to offer free tuition fee to their own college-aged children by giving the example of Oceania University which already have a tuition fee wavier for the children of faculty members. In addition they wrote due to this the faculty retention is higher in Oceania University.

The Seatown University's faculty committee did not consider the other possible reasons for faculty retention, like offering increment in the salary, provision of good facilities or the good environment on the Oceania University. The Oceania University providing better funding for research purposes and other cultural activities which encourages everyone to avail these opportunities, which is better than Seatown University.

What if, there are none or very few faculties who have their children going to colleges? Even if they have college-aged children, then are they studying in Oceania University or some other University? So there is a assumption made by the faculty committee of Seatown University that many or all of the faculties being retained must have their children studying in Oceania University.

Again the argument states that the study conducted by someone at the Oceania University says faculty retention has increased because of free tuition fee offered to the faculties children. So how reliable is the source of this survey or study. and when was the survey conducted? It might be possible that the rule for tuition fee wavier must be an old one has nothing to do with the higher faculty retention.

Therefore, the higher faculty retention rate and the free tuition fee foe college based children may have no connection at all and the argument stated by the faculty committee to allow free tuition fees policy in Seatown University Is just not valid and is weakened by the above clauses.