The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter is stating that because of a study that showed faculty retention at Oceania University is higher when professors receive free college tuition for their kids, Seatown University should give their professors this benefit. However, the Oceania University must produce more proof to ultimately show without a doubt that free college tuition for professors' children directly causes the faculty retention rate, Seatown must locate many different studies that portray the same occurrence and lastly Seaton must survey the Oceania faculty members to locate the cause of their retention.

First, an array of different professors at different colleges receiving free tuition for their children must be made. Seatown should then calculate the retention rate of each of the professors for a period of five or more years. If all or close to all of the colleges in the study are proven to link the same cause and effect relationship that occurred in Oceania then the studies would strengthen the author's argument because there would be a greater chance that Seatown University would have the same cause and effect in their school.

Second, the Oceania professors may have received a different benefit for their work during the time when they received free tuition for their college-aged children. This benefit may have been the cause for the teachers to stay at Oceania and not because of the free tuition for their kids. For example, the Oceania professors may have received a salary increase at the same time that they were offered free college tuition for their kids. Also, another benefit outside Oceania University may have occurred. For example, a new impressive middle-school may have opened near Oceania University during the time of the study and the Professors may have stayed in Oceania because they like sending their children to the new middle school near Oceania. Therefore, research must be done to locate this information. If the research proves that only the free tuition for the professors' children cause the faculty's retention rate then the author's argument would be strengthened.

Lastly, even if there is evidence that nothing else contributed to the faculty retention rate, a direct link was made between the free tuition for professor's college-aged children and those professor's staying at the university, and the surveys showed that each faculty member stayed because of the free tuition, Seatown should not necessarily institute the free-tuition policy because it enhances the morale among faculty and lures new professors as the author states. The free tuition policy can lower morale for certain faculty members and attract professors who are there for the wrong reasons or push other faculty members at the University who do not benefit from the free tuition to work at other colleges. For example, if a woman who works at the Oceania University office and has a kid enrolling in Oceania University the following year will be outraged that she does not get free tuition for her kid but the professors do. She may feel that the University therefore thinks of the office workers at the college are considered lower class workers compared to the professors. This can ultimately lower the morale of many different faculty members and cause their eventual leave from the school.

The underlying evidence for the reason why Seatown University should offer free tuition to the professors' college-aged children is weak and can be disproven in many different ways. There needs to be a comprehensive survey displaying the reasons behind the higher faculty retention, many other studies in array of colleges showing the faculty retention increasing after similar benefit was awarded to professors and lastly no other outstanding reasons in the area can be found for the faculty retention to have increased to disprove that the free tuition was the reason behind the higher retention rate.