The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University: A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for the

The letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University claims that for retaining professors in the University we should institute free-tuition policy. He bases his reasoning on the ground that offering this policy enhance morale among them and also lure new professors to the University. This plan is unlikely to be successful due to flaws in the reasoning and incomplete evidence.

Firstly, the author claims that the faculty retention is higher when among them professors are offered free tuition at the university. This statement is a strech as it take into account all types of faculty. Also, the fallacy is that on the basis of study just conducted at few nearby Oceania University, the author is claiming that it's a viable option. If you have noticed the author is assuming that what is true for the nearby of the Oceania university, same is true for Seatown university as well. This is the biggest flaw on the basis of which the author is deriving an irrelevant conclusion.

Secondly, the author assumes that the faculty retention will be higher just on the bases of one reason of offering free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. This is again a weak assumption as there might be some other reason that will make the faculty to stay back with the university and give all its best for the progress of the university. Also, even though the policy is instituted what if the child of the faculty is not able to find the course he is looking to pursue. There are several key loopholes that the author has forgot to mention.

Lastly, the author asserts that if this policy comes to action that it can enhance the morale among the faculty and luring new professors. Though this can be one of the factor, however their is no gurantee that this will work for this university. What if the professors are looking for good appraisal, nice working environment. The author cannot use this one reason to assert his reasoning.

Though there are several issues with the author reasoning's with research and clarification, he can stand on his argument. For example, he should have taken into consideration the study near Seatown University and similar courses conducting universities.Should have taken into account more factors for retaining faculties like healthy working hours, salary stats etc.

In a sum, as we can see from above mentioned reasons and examples, the author's assumption is prone to acute reasoning and hence open to debate.