The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument that If people use Adams Realty for selling their house then the deal will be done in short time and also with higher sell price may seem logical at first glance. The author makes a valid argument, one that would be correct if its premises were true. however, the author's conclusion relies on the assumptions for which there is no clear evidence and it uses terms that lack definition.

The author made assumption on the base of selling of the house before the 10 years ago. Now a days, the development is increasing day on day. Due this development, the price of the property also increases. The selling price of home becomes almost double in one or two years due to the development of the area. The author sold home which is listed with Fitch before the ten years ago. Home listed with Adams sold before the one year. The selling time difference between this two homes is almost 9 years. Author made assumption by comparing this two homes' selling prices. The selling price of home which is sold before one year is obviously higher than other which one sold before the ten years. So, author can't make the assumption on the base of the this two homes.

The selling time and the selling price also depend on the construction and architecture of home, also on the area in which it is situated. If Home listed with Fitch is situated in rural area then it will take more time to sell and price will also less compared to the developed area. Home listed with Adams is situated in developed area then it will take less time and price will also more compared to rural area. The selling price and selling time will also depends on the factors like robbery, murder, etc. So, author has to also consider this points to make assumption.

In Adams realty 40 real estate agents work while in Fitch realty 25 real estate agents work. Author don't only consist the number of real estate agents, Author also consists the efficiency, qualification, etc. Author also has to check that this real estate do work legally or not. The author's argument would be strengthened considerably if he includes all this points.

The argument is the result of a huge speculation in which the author has comfortably assumed considerable amount of data. If the author had taken the above discussed factors into view, it would have rendered the argument irrefutable.