The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author’s inclination towards Adams Realty is justified on his own intra-personal level, given his recent successful sale through it. One can see that the author really wants to promote Adams Realty over Fitch Realty in good faith but fails to provide substantial merit to his report in doing so. The conclusion is unjustified over three main premises and has based itself on some rather less thought-out assumptions.

Firstly, quantity does not define quality. Adams Realty may have more real estate agents than Fitch Realty but that could be justified through a sundry of possibilities; Maybe Fitch’s is just a family business that is happy with its market and while Adams is a professional firm indubitably aimed at providing job opportunities and see its own economic growth. Maybe the employees at Adams work for 4 hours a day and those at Fitch Realty- even the ones doing a part-time job work for more hours than Adams’.

Second. While the revenue-generation over the same period of time could possibly pose as a valid argument of superiority over Fitch Realty, we know very little about what economy class is dealt by both the firms. It could simply be a matter of Adams dealing with high-cost real estate and Fitch dealing with a low economy class of customers. Just the revenue-generation without the actual data of transactions elucidate very little of Adams Realty’s hegemony.

Lastly, the author claims that it took Fitch four months to sell his house ten years ago while it only took Adams Realty one month to do the same last year. This can in no way be quantified as justifiable to either parties of competition since the author fails to take into account the chronological time-gap.

It’s easier to sell anything these days courtesy of commercialization, internet-era and marketing; ten years ago all of these factors contributing to a speedy business were little or non-existent. Hence this comparison completely unjustified since he has no recent experience with Fitch Realty whatsoever and cannot speak for their current service.

In conclusion, the author’s preference of Adams over Fitch is highly unsubstantiated. Perhaps the author would’ve made his claim more concrete by providing more data, i.e. transaction records and number of dealings of last year’s revenue of both parties; we are not even given the information of whether Adams existed 10 years ago. One may also see Adams and Fitch as a high-cost real estate firms and an economy-cost real estate firm respectively—going to whomever accordingly to their income-classes. But the author hasn’t cleared out aspects which rely on a slippery slope of lazy assumptions inevitably leading to a foot-loose conclusion. Until the author provides us with evidence that could merit his claim, his promotion in question relies heavily on a balance of probability- one that cannot be considered plausible.