The following appeared in a letter from a homeowner to a friend.

"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town—Adams Realty and Fitch Realty—Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Realty business is a competitive market on its own. The homeowner feels a little more inclined to the Adams Realty as he is stating the firm to be a clear winner among the two. And this notion can be observed throughout his statements regarding the firm.

Firstly, the comparison of the two firms on the basis of agents is not justifiable. One of the important skills for an agent is to make as many contacts as possible to increase his reach to the customers. The lesser number does not always imply lesser reach to customers. Though Fitch may have lesser number of agents, they would have a greater reach through some other means like electronic media, etc.

Next, the revenue comparison may look a balanced factor for the comparison of the firms. But the profitability is the crucial factor to sustain. And as far as customer’s point of view is concerned, reliability along with affordable prices is a great combination for customer satisfaction. Higher sales of Adams may be due to the trading of more expensive properties than the Fitch. On the other hand, Fitch may have created a better customer base through their deals even though the deals may not be of higher valuation.

Finally, the homeowner shares his own experience of listing of his own property. The timeline mentioned during the two transactions is indeed not supporting. During his first deal, the market conditions would have been not favourable for the trading and hence, it took a longer period for the transaction. The first deal made was a decade ago whereas the second one was merely a year ago. There is a very high possibility of drastic changes in the market during this time period. Therefore, such comparison seems a bit biased.

Concluding the argument, it would have been better if the house owner had presented better facts and figures from a reliable source to support his stand. Presenting such statements, without concrete evidence, makes his stand on a weaker side.