The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

The following argument concludes that "modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further." While this may be true, but in order to evaluate effectively, we need more evidence. This essay tries to mention some of the evidence and explains how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Firstly, the author states that "in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be." and since the adjustment no problems have been reported.” and assumes that this modifying in all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will have no problems. The water pressure in first three building was high before adjustment, so after adjustment, it did not make problem for residents, but it is possible that water pressure in rest of building was low, so with adjustment residence will have not water. If we had evidence that water pressure is same in all building, then, it would strengthen the argument.

Secondly, the given argument claims that "the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation" but there is no evidence that the change redound to saving. It is possible that the residence finds a way to take a shower with unrestricted water flow (that waste a lot of water). For example, because of low water pressure, the residence modify showerhead to unrestricted water flows. The argument would have been strengthening if had evidence about the rate of saving after modifying restriction in water flow.

Finally, the author assumes that residents are satisfied and there is no problem with the shower because no problems with showers have been reported. It is possible that the residence had problem with the shower but they did not report. For example, researchers proved that just one percent of unsatisfied customer complain. If we had evidence that all residents are satisfied, it would strengthen the argument.

In summary, we need a lot of evidence to complete understanding of strength and weakness of the argument. Evidence, such as sameness of water pressure in all building, increasing rate of saving after modifying restriction in water flow and satisfaction of all residents about showerhead, all are needed to assess the argument.