The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author concludes here that modifying the shower heads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in Sunnyside Tower complex will increase profits dramatically. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which the argument could be evaluated. In support of the conclusion, the author reasons that since, the restriction of water flow through the shower heads in three builds has increased their profits, it would be the same if they apply it for the all of buildings in the complex. however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that the maximum water flow is happening through the shower heads. this is merely an assumption without much solid ground. For example, it could have been that the residents using much more water through the taps, may be they are using more water for cooking or cleaning the room or washing the cloths.

The argument also readily tells that they do not have an actual reading of the water usage before and after the adjustments were made. this is again another weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate why their profit will increase regardless of it.

Finally, the author points out that there were few complains about low water pressure, and people could not able to use water. perhaps that is why the water usage has decreased. however, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author's conclusion in several critical aspects and raises skeptical questions. For example, how author is so sure about the fact that water usage decreased because of modification made in the shower head? why they haven't been able to collect data? why people are complaining? without much convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author's argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide much more concrete evidence, perhaps by detailed analysis of the readings of the water usage before and after the adjustment.