The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The author of the letter avers that the restriction to the water usage in the apartment complex named the Sunnyside Towers can result in economic benefits for the complex. The owner who wrote this text presents several supporting points for his argument. While these statements seem to be plausible at the first glance, they are based on logical fallacies or unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, it is hard to conclude that lowered water usage would be profitable for the complex by referring to such weak evidence.

To begin with, it should be noted that even the writer himself admits that the actual results of water usage before and after the new policy have not been reported. In this situation, it is not reasonable for the owner to believe that the new measure would be conducive to saving money. The complex's economic condition is related to a myriad of factors. Whereas the monthly expenditure for water can be one of these factors, it is difficult to say that water usage has a decisive influence on the general financial condition of the complex. There seem to be other important factors, such as the expenses for management, renovation, and maintenance. Other fees for electricity and gas should be concerned as a part of such costs too. In this circumstance, it can be said that the savings resulting from the limited water usage may not have a significant effect on the complex's finance unless the writer shows accurate data to support his idea.

Besides, even though the owner says that there have been a few complaints only, it is not possible to say that the actual reactions of the residents have precisely been reported. As the author does not reveal his source of information, it can be assumed that he just heard the voice of a few people through limited methods. Meanwhile, there may be a lot more dissatisfied inhabitants who just do not have a proper way of communication or keep silent while being disappointed. Therefore, the owner has to mention the ways he has used to research the opinions of the residents.

Furthermore, while the letter mentions that the restriction should be applied to all twelve constructions, this argument is just a result of the hasty and imprudent generalization. Apart from the aforementioned problems, such generalization also has serious logical fallacies. First of all, even if we suppose that the limited water usage in the three buildings is helpful for the economic condition of the complex, this outcome cannot always be true for the other nine buildings. Those buildings may have different conditions in their shapes and geographical locations, and therefore the saving effects may vary a lot.

In conclusion, the main idea of the author is not reliable unless he adds more concrete data to buttress his points. It should be also noted that if the modification was really implemented in all parts of the three buildings. If there were omissions, it is not even possible to say that the supposed savings from the three buildings are complete.