The following appeared in a magazine article about planning for retirement.

"Because of its spectacular natural beauty and consistent climate, Clearview should be a top choice for anyone seeking a place to retire. As a bonus, housing costs in Clearview have fallen significantly during the past year, and real estate taxes remain lower than those in neighboring towns. Nevertheless, Clearview's mayor promises many new programs to improve schools, streets, and public services. Retirees in Clearview can also expect excellent health care as they grow older, since the number of physicians in the area is far greater than the national average."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The stated magazine article about planning considering Clearview as an option for housing after retirement seems axiomatic. The author cites its beautiful nature and consistent climate, housing costs and relatively low tax rate, development of new programs, and above the average health care to support the claim. However, there are many evidences that need to be provided; otherwise, the argument is incomplete.

To begin with, the author assumes that people prefer spectacular natural beauty and consistent climate over other features when choosing their housing. Nevertheless, people might choose their houses according to other factors such as accessibility to downtown, cost, and size of the house. There are so many variables that can shift people's mind, which calls for evidence that shows nature is one of the top factors for people during their housing selection process.

Furthermore, the author conjectures that Clearview housing is competitive in price since its housing costs have fallen radically during the past year, and real estate taxes are relatively lower compared to those in neighboring towns. Nonetheless, if the fallen cost is still greater than other housing options, and its total cost is too great to compensate for its lower tax, then Clearview housing option will not be attractive to customers. Therefore, more specific evidence regarding Clearview's competence in cost is needed to bolster the claim.

Another supposition the author relies the assertion is that improvement through town's new programs would provide better environment for the town's prospective residents. However, prospective customers might want their town to be extremely quiet especially since the housing is for people to reside in after their retirements. Thereby, residents of the town might not like the new programs and expansion of facilities. Also, even if people want it, the exact date of new programs is not cited, which is a very important information for customers. The author has to give more information about people's wants regarding their housing after retirement and the exact date of new programs to strengthen the claim.

Lastly, the author posits that more physicians means better health services. However, it could be that there are more physicians in town because the bar is lower in that town, thus enabling people to become physicians without much difficulty. Also, the author fails to consider the physician ratio per one individual. If the number of residents well exceed the number of residents in other towns, thus making the ratio really high, then the author's argument that the town has better health service will remain flawed. Evidences regarding quality of physicians and exact ratio of physicans per person are needed for the claim to become more logical.

In sum, the author's assertion relies on suppositions that are logically flawed. To strengthen the claim, it is required for the author to give more information about people's preferences, detailed data of cost of housing, people's thoughts on mayor's new programs and their exact date, and more evidence that shows the town's health service is high quality.