The following appeared in a memo to the board of directors of a company that specializes in the delivery of heating oil.

"Most homes in the northeastern United States, where winters are typically cold, have traditionally used oil as their major fuel for heating. Last heating season, that region experienced 90 days with below-normal temperatures, and climate forecasters predict that this weather pattern will continue for several more years. Furthermore, many new homes are being built in the region in response to recent population growth. Because of these trends, we can safely predict that this region will experience an increased demand for heating oil during the next five years."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter indicates that the demand for heating oil will be greater and more stable during the next five years. The argument is based upon several facts which are not so persuasive, because, the passage seriously lacks the strong connection between the different parts of the passage. Hence, in order to be sure about the prediction, this passage must contain much more information, which will help to conclude properly. Otherwise, the mentioned company ventures to have financial problems because of an unfulfilled forecast.

First of all, the author of the text says about the weather forecast, it is undoubtable fact that weather forecasts are one of the most upredictible things in the world. So, the same logic is applicable to this situation. To base financial prediction upon weather forecast is quite risky business. Moreover, the passage states about the only last year, and there is no any information on which weather data the mentioned forecasters rely upon. Probably, these forecasters are not so competient in this business, and in order to be sure about their forecasts, it will be much more helpful and useful to look at their previous forecasts and conclude whether the forecasts came true or not. Perphaps, it will add more assurance to this situation, but still, the prediction about the future, espcially about the weather, it is always rather risky.

Even if the forecasts came true, and really, there was a lot of scientific data that the very cold period will come, it is not enough arguments to conclude that demand for heating oil will grow. The passage states that in the respond to the recent population growth many new homes were build. However, it has no word about the heating system in these homes. Perhaps, they will be heated with the help of a new heating system, and there will not be any need to buy heating oil. Especially, considering the situation with eco trend in the world. It is easy to propose that the new homes will be heated by innovating system of heating, which does not require oil. Hence, the information about new houses will be critical to conclude about the financial forecast.

Moreover, the passage lacks the information whether these new houses are bougth or not. It could be easily true that these houses are not occupied at all, and this argument adds more diffidence than assurance.

To sum up, the argument is quite shaky and unpersuasive, it seriously lacks additional evidence to conclude. In order to be sure about the forecast, the author should provide much more certain information about all aspect of the mentioned situation. Otherwise, it ventures to have unfulfilled prediction.