The following appeared in a memo from a budget planner for the city of Grandview.

"When the Grandview Symphony was established ten years ago, the city of Grandview agreed to provide the symphony with annual funding until the symphony became self-sustaining. Two years ago, the symphony hired an internationally known conductor, who has been able to attract high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony. Since then, private contributions to the symphony have tripled and attendance at the symphony's outdoor summer concert series has reached record highs. Now that the symphony has succeeded in finding an audience, the city can eliminate its funding of the symphony."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this passage, the author recommends to cut off public funding for Grandview Symphony and predicts such elimination have nothing to do with its future financial-sustaining. Quite reasonable though such recommendation appears at first glance, the author's reasoning of the argument is unconvincing due to several unsubstantiated assumptions which, if proven unwarranted, will seriously challenge the author's conclusion.

To start off, the author's reasoning heavily relies on the assumption that the celebrated conductor would keep staying in this symphony after hiring. Based on the assumption the author therefore proposes that attraction for high-profile guest musicians to perform with the symphony could be guaranteed in the long term. However, such assumption is potentially problematic because none could ensure that this conductor won't receive any more appealing offer from other symphony. Nor do we know whether he/she is willing to stay in the same district for a long time. Moreover, we have no idea whether his/her family status could support his/her further professional life in Grandview symphony or not. If more engrossing offer is provided by any symphony, or he/she enjoy a more itinerate lifestyle to make more achievements within wider districts, or even his/her family exhorts him/her to make a change recently, we are inclined to believe that Grandview could still invite him/her for relatively longer time. In this case, properisty of audiences accompanying with this conductor would become in vain for the future.

Furthermore, by stating that private investment and attendance of outdoor concert increase drastically, the author believe that Grandview could easily grasp with sufficient funding beside public expenditure from the city. However, we need to re-examine the assumption that both of those two financial sources are sufficient to make Grandview Symphony independent from city funding. It is likely that amount of private contribution is relatively small compared with the total funding received by Grandview, despite the fact that increasing trending seems encouraging. Also, it is of equal probability that outdoor summer concert only comprise a very small percentage of its overall financial gain. Moreover, we can't even predict that both of two income sources would be robust as time goes by. If it turns out that private contribution only occupies a very small proportion of Grandview total financial revenue, or both of those trends are a fad which couldn't be sustained, the author's proposal of cutting of city financial support is tenuous.

Last but not least, while all of assumptions mentioned above prove warranted, the author's recommendation is still unnecessary due to the doubtful assumption regarding whether more participation of audience could convert into sufficient revenue. Claiming that immense profit could be grasped from more audience, the author seems too optimistic. It is unreasonable to assume that audiences are all paying for tickets by themselves and such financial incomes could overshadow the investment from the city. Also, the author hastily comes to the conclusion that public funding of the symphony could be eliminated, but does not discuss whether more cost could generate as a result of more performance caused by increasing audience. If audiences just get free tickets with no contribution for Grandview's finance, or such ticket incomes couldn't outdo those from public funding, or even more audience inversely increase cost of this symphony, then we can't simply believe that it is still the right time to stop city funding.

In summary, whether we should implement the author's recommendation heavily depends on the validity of the aforementioned assumptions. If those assumptions prove unwarranted, the author's recommendation could become little more than his/her wishful thinking and therefore we should consider other solutions to attract more audience and consequently decouple with public funding for the symphony.