The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacter

Argument tries to build a relationship between a laboratory study, which showed 40 percent greater reduction in bacteria than other hand soaps, and a test done within hospitals indicating that fewer people reported infections in the hospital using the UltraClean hand wash. While on the surface the argument appears to be cogent, on further scrutiny, we can see that it is rife with fallacies and assumptions.

The argument tries to build a cause and effect relationship between the usage of UltraClean hand soap and decrease in reported cases of patient infections in Workby hospital. This is vague, and loosely put relation. We are not given any insight about how the test was conducted, and the motivation behind the test. It might be totally possible the test conductors are trying to sell UltraClean and purposefully reported fewer cases of patient infections. Moreover, there is no clear telling of the credibility of the test. How many hospitals were there in total? What groups were they divided into? Was there a control group? It seems that only Workby hospital was the one using UltraClean, which does not proves effectiveness of UltraClean hand soap in general. Workby might have superior cleanliness to other hospitals. Workby might already be taking special care of patients, providing them specific treatments, or assigning them nurses who take care of patients assiduously. This might skew the results. Test conductors should have used a control and experimental group. The result presented might have been substantial if experimental group had showed significant improvement, while using UltraClean hand soap, over the control group.

In addition, the laboratory study seem fallacious. A concentrated solution of UltraClean was used. Possibility of a concentrated solution performing better is pretty high. Whereas a solution with a similar concentration as the other hand soaps currently in use by the hospitals might have produced more trustable result, as we don't know if the same concentration will be put to use, or a diluted solution will be used in the hospitals. Moreover, even if the concentrated solution is used in the hospital, we haven't tested the long term effects of the hand soap. Owing to the higher concentration, UltraClean might have abrasive or other deleterious effects on the patient's skin.

Finally, there is no indication if sanitization was a problem in Workby. Author of the argument seems to endorse UltraClean and there seems to be a monetary benefit for the author. But author forgets to point out if Workby actually needs the product in first place. While there might be cases of patient infection, we do not know if these cases are benign or malignant. Even if there are serious cases of infection, there no clear correlation presented in the argument between these malignant cases being ameliorated by the use of UltraClean. Hence, supplying UltraClean to every handwashing station throughout the hospital system seems like a ploy to sell the hand soap, with no tangible benefits to patients or hospital's service.

After examining and analysing these points, the argument does not seems to justify use of UltraClean throughout the hospital system. It might be possible that UltraClean is a better sanitization product, but more research is needed to make a cogent case.