The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

I would like to contend that the memo from the direction of student housing at Buckingham College needs more clarification to the evidences he stated. Its request to build new dormitories are based on assumptions that are too vague. Buckingham college need to consider these assumptions before agreeing to the director of student housing.

First of all, it is assumed that by the increase in enrollment at Buckingham's also gives rise to the increase in the housing needs. Is it stated that the enrolled students are native or foreign? It could be that the students getting enrolled are all native to the Buckingham's town. So, there won't be any particular rise in demand for the dormitories. It also states that based on current trends, the enrollment has risen. This trend could be only of their native city. So, if it's the trend of their native town then the increase in housing needs are not going to increase by a substantiate amount as stated by the director of student housing.

Again, it is assumed that the after 50 years the enrollment of buckingham's will be doubled. Thus, the housing needs. This is according to the current trends and trends always change every few years. So, there is no guarantee that the demand of students to enroll in Buckingham College would be same. As, you can't predict when the trend will change. It could be possible that this is the only native college in the town, so the local town students enroll in this college for the ease of covenience. For the contrary lets assume for while that the demand of students to enroll in Buckingham College doubles in the next 50 years. Is it stated that there will a demand in more foreign or inter-state students will increase? And the demand is going to be doubled in 50 years; its a long way to go, Why proposing to build new dormitories so early?

It is stated that there is an increase in the average rent of the town and students won't be able to afford off-campus houses. Is it stated that people coming from inter-state or foreign are very poor? And is it given that the College would provide them dormitories at a price lesser than they get a house off-campus? The income or background of the students isn't known, so we can't assume that they would be in search of cheaper appartments; Thereby, building new dormitories.

Lastly, it is assumed that the students would be attracted to enroll in the college by seeing their new dormitories. Generally, a majority of students would be lured by the faculty and infrastructure of the college rather than the dormitoes. It is not stated that the students would get attracted to the dormitoes but what if the prices are higher than the average rent in the town. The students will not opt for on-campus dormitoes, where he can find a place at a cheaper price.

I would like to conclude by saying the director of student housing have made many unstated assumptions and the board or commity of Buckingham's College should make a decision keeping in mind the above stated assumptions.