The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the passage claims that expanding the dormitories would help Buckingham college not just attract admissions but also help the students afford them at descent prices. I take a position to evaluate the claim made by the author on a slightly different perspective. The position I hold is that building new dormitories are not likely to bring prospective students to enroll at Buckingham nor help them make an affordable place to stay.

Firstly, the author assumes the fact that based on current trends the admissions at Buckingman over the next 50 years would double. I question the authenticity of this piece of information provided. Is it really the case that its likely to have the same trend running another 50 years down the line. What if the priorities of people change? Also, if the adroit and experienced professors are to leave the institution which would very likely toil its reputation. Are the enrollments still going to increase the way its projected. I clearly doubt that idea on these grounds.

Secondly, the author claims that attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham. The author plainly assumes that setting up new dormitories are the only good reason to attract admission. But clearly he is missing out other important factors. For example, when the standard, infrastructure and quality of education are improved, theyspeak the value of the college. So, the author simply does not have a lot of other rudimentary parameters into consideration.

Lastly, the author assumes the fact that students find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. I doubt this because if the college were in the city, obviously the rent at both dormitories and off-camping housing around the city would be a substancial amount, more likely huge on the students pocket. Generally on such scenarios, students take housings at the country side very close to the city where the rents are way cheaper. So, even if new dormitories are built for students what if they don't get occupied just because the students find an alternate place of stay cheaper and in serenity.

Thus, I conclude stating that the author has not taken into consideration the authenticity of the data that he is claimning for his argument. Also, the author has missed out a lot of other important parameters such as standard, quality and the infrastructure, into consideration. Adding to it, he also assumes that the dormitories provided by the college are the affordable ones where there can be other possibilties near the countryside which could turn around cheaper than them.