The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The mayor of Brindleburg recommends building a new golf course and a hotel. Supposedly this project should attract visitors and tourists as well as stimulate creation new local business. Consequently, Brindleburg will generate additional tax revenue which may be used on public improvements. This conclusion is buttressed be evidence which should be questioned in order to gauge the soundness of the argument.

The first supportive evidence which is given to us is that erection of "a new municipal golf course and resort hotel" leads to 20 % increase in visitors. However, is it only plausible factor which may leads to this enhancement? Perhaps local government has created an effective advertising campaign which makes the Seaside Vista (SV) well-known by public. Moreover, the Seaside Vista's committee may create a decent infrastructure and other recreational facilities which were not mentioned by the author. All these examples point on the likeliness that other factors may significantly affect the attractiveness of the SV for tourists.

Additionally to it, the argument claims that repetition of two year’s experience in Brindleburg, which has different location, will have similar result. This idea seems to be questionable. Probably the new municipal gold-course which was created two years ago was unique for the area. Or its opening coincides with surge in popularity of this kind of sport. In both this cases, the repetition of the SV's action may not have the same positive consequences. Additionally to it, the towns may have different locations. As we may learn from the town's name Seaside Vista may located near sea, perhaps it has merciful climate. The second town may be located less beneficial for instance, near with swamps and moody lakes with cold and humid climate. These examples illustrate that two towns may have distinction which may impact on the implementation of the policy.

Finally, the author avers that fulfillment of the proposed alteration will stimulate creation of new local business and thus will create additional revenue. However, the surge of business activity in SV may not be caused by the change. Probably, two years ago a local economy was thriving and local government incentivized creation of new enterprises. In other words, even if building new golf course will attract new visitors in Bridleburg it may not lead to increase local revenue.

In conclusion, the argument asserts that repetition of SV's policy will attract new business and thus create additional revenue. However, the mayor has failed to demonstrate that SV' success was caused by the policy, that two towns are similar to each other, and that implementation of the policy will inevitably create additional revenue. Thus the argument is unwarranted and fulfillment of the policy may not bring expected result.