The following appeared in a memo from New Ventures Consulting to the president of HobCo, Inc., a chain of hobby shops."Our team has completed its research on suitable building sites for a new HobCo hobby Shop in the city of Grilldon. We discovered that th

The above memo is flawed in a number of ways and their recommendation holds good only when the following questions have been answered precisely.

New Ventures Consulting states that they discovered that there are currently no hobby shops in southeastern Grilldon. Have they visited each street?The above statement depends on the number of streets they visited in order to make this statement. To go through two to three streets in a town consisting of fifteen streets and make an assumption as above would be quixotic. A through analysis of each shop on each street would yield more results. A detailed analysis is to be presented to the president of HobCo Inc. for justification.

The company also states that the researched conducted a poll of area resident, out of which 88 percent indicated they would welcome the opening. The survey conduction might be flawed. Age matters and a detailed analysis of the age group preferring the opening of a hobby shop might be also noted. Does the survey taken include people of all age-groups and does it cover everyone in southeastern Grilldon? This would help find if everyone in the area would enjoy the opening of a hobby shop. While residents of one street might be interested, residents in another might not find it interesting and enjoyable. Hence survey must be taken for all the residents and must be not be assumed after a few streets.

The recommendation states that Grilldon is in a region of the nation in which the hobby business has increased by 300 percent during the past decade. Times change and so does the interests of people living in them. Does the interest still remain the same? A decade ago is indeed a long time ago. A poll must be taken in order to find out whether they still prefer hobby shops over other interests that lay amidst them.

The researches have also revealed that "Grilldon has a very large population of retirees, a demographic with ample time to devote to hobbies". How has this information been taken? If the company has just taken the number of retirees without considering the population, then this doesn't hold true. The ratio of retirees to the total number of residents must be taken. Also, do these retirees wish to spend their time on hobbies? A survey must be taken in order to prove this. The statement that they are retirees hence having ample time for hobbies doesn't hold true otherwise. Why, they might just want to stay at home and might have their own families to devote their time to.

Hence, the above questions must be answered in order to obtain the evaluate the recommendation. Only then, does it hold true and the shop will profit the company greatly.