The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The memo states that alpaca overcoat production should resume since there is a new fabric supplier. In doing so, it will be profitable to the company. The conclusion drawn needs to be further evaluated due to the flaws in assumptions that it rests upon.

Firstly, the memo itself is coming from the new vice president of the company. How qualified is he to make assumptions about the quality of fabric and consumer behavior? If he has been with the company since the time the overcoat was discontinued, then he would have insight as to what brought upon its downfall and can attest to the consumer habits. He would also be able to differentiate quality versus sub par wool. This would strengthen his conclusion as he is knowledgeable about the workings of the company and is capable of drawing such conclusions. If he is new to the company, he has relied on reports to determine the tribulations the company went through to get reliable wool. This does not serve as a major problem; however, it means he does not know much about the company clientage. As a result, his predictions that the sales will increase because of pent-up demand would be baseless.

Additionally, the conclusion is based on the assumption that the new supplier will meet the needs of alpaca overcoat productions. How it determined that the new supplier will provide consistent high quality fabric? Further investigation needs to be done to solidify the fact that the supplier is reliable. If it is found that the new supplier is incompetent, then it would weaken the argument, since the production heavily relies on fabric. What also needs to be questioned is the cost of such fabric. If the prices are higher, the coats would need to be sold at a higher price to ensure selling at a higher price would lead to smaller profit.

The memo also assumes that there is no other companies that make the overcoat, besides the major competitor. It is possible for smaller companies to be making such coats and selling them at a lower price. This would weaken the argument as consumers would be unwilling to pay for exorbitant prices if there is a cheaper option. The high price is justified by the fact that other clothing prices have went up, but the vice president fails to mention which types. If the cost of dresses and pants have went up, but not coats, it would weaken his argument. Because the price of other clothing types increased, it does not mean it would justify the increased coat price.

In summation, for this conclusion to be justified there are some assumptions that need to be addressed. Determining the competency of the vice president, the reliability of the new fabric supplier, and the market for such coats will shed light on the issue.