The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian a company that manufactures men s clothing Five years ago at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric we discontinued production of

The foremost evidence the passage has to bring and examine is the wool's market price. The passage believes the company would garnermore profits with its higher price. What it fails to mention, though, is the current cost of manufactoring, especially the wool price. The new supplier might demand a higher price for the raw materials than the previous one. Furthermore, with the gradual inflation, the wool price itself might have risen as well. Besides the wool price, the prices of labors, machines, and other aspects of manufactoring might have risen. The amount of rise in manufactoring cost could in fact be greater than the expected rise in the price of the coat, effectively nullifying

the extra profits the company has anticipated. Thus, if any of the speculations stand true, the passage's argument gravely gets weakened.

In addition to the wool price, the company has to analyze the reason why its major competitor has stopped its production of the alpha overcoat. Logically, the competitor would have increased the production of the coat when Sartorian has curtailed its production to meet the product demand alone. Nevertheless, the fact that the competitor no longer produces it suggests there exist some reasons adverse to the alpha overcoat, such as declining demand or introduction of other popular jackets. If either case comes out to be valid, then the passage further loses its strength in argument, for it would make unlikely for Sartorian to make any profits through the coat as well.

Lastly, the passage has to evaluate the current fashion trend. Five years ago in fashion time frame is ancient. Because of the protean fashion trend, the overcoat, despite its past glory, might not align with the current trend and could fail to whisk adequate attention from the customers. Therefore, the company has to perform research on whether the overcoat has become anachronistic. If the outcome of the research yields to be true, then the passage's claim that it would generate more profits is at stake.

To wrap it up, despite all the evidence compiled and elucidated, the passage fails to lend a convincing argument. In reality, the passage does not display numerous evidence to corroborate its position. Clearly, it can be concluded that it is too foolhardy to accept what the passage shows until the acquirements and understandings of the evidence as well as its implications are performed.