The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of a company that builds shopping malls around the country.

"The surface of a section of Route 101, paved just two years ago by Good Intentions Roadways, is now badly cracked with a number of dangerous potholes. In another part of the state, a section of Route 40, paved by Appian Roadways more than four years ago, is still in good condition. In a demonstration of their continuing commitment to quality, Appian Roadways recently purchased state-of-the-art paving machinery and hired a new quality-control manager. Therefore, I recommend hiring Appian Roadways to construct the access roads for all our new shopping malls. I predict that our Appian access roads will not have to be repaired for at least four years."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The aouthor predicts that if access road to the mall is built by Appian roadways , they will not need to be repaired for atleast 4 years. In support of this claim he cites the example pf another aprt of the road constructed by Appian which is still in good condition.He also gives exaample of anopther company that made roads which is in poor condition within two years. The aouthor also believes that new quality control manager at Appian and ist state of the art machine are more reasons to believe the prediction. These areguments do not make a cogent case , though they may sound resonable at first.

Firstly , the author compares roads made by Appian and another company which are in different parts of the country. The author does not eluciadte the usage and the average traffic on both the roads . He also does not mention the climate of areas aorund the two roads. Is it that Route 101 experinces heavy rainfall ? Is it true that the average traffic is same on both the routes? Heavy goods vehicle may be more prevalent on Route 101 leading to greater wear and tear. Potholes can also be attributed to heavy rainfall and other natural causes. Without sufficient answers to the above we cannot make a meaningful comarison on the impervious or resistance level of the raods made by the two companies.

Secondly , auothor brings our attention to the fact that Appian Co. has purchased new state of the art paving machine and hired a new quality control manager. He does not imply anywhere that this exclusive machine will be used to construct access roads. Access roads are generally smaller so it a question where they do need such state of the art machine ? Or it is justa gimmick by Appian to attract more customers ? Appian as a company could be looking to expand in other areas and take up contracts to build roads in different terrain. Thus they hired a new manager . The impact recruitment will impact access roads for the mall are not mentioned