The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two different regions. The buildings were erected by two different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Even though the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build, and its expenses for maintenance last year were twice those of the building constructed by Alpha. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been higher than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data, plus the fact that Alpha has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, indicate that we should use Alpha rather than Zeta for our contemplated new building project."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memo states that the Alpha company is a better choice for the new building project than the Zeta company. Although the memo provides some convincing reasons for its claim, those reasons are based on many stated and unstated assumptions. The validity of these assumptions can directly affect the claim as I will explore one by one in this essay.

First, the regional headquarters was built in two different regions and the cost of raw materials and manpower in different regions can be dramatically different. For example, the costs of concrete, steel and glass in the UK may be two-times higher than those costs in China. Therefore, the building construction costs of these two headquarters cannot be directly compared to each other. The author can only imply that Zeta’s project is more expensive than Alpha’s project, if he assumes that those two regions have the same rate of construction materials and manpower. Otherwise, the claim can be flawed.

Second, the energy consumptions of buildings also depend on their location. Buildings in tropical zone need a lot of energy for the air conditioner system, while buildings in a moderate temperature zone do not need that much energy. Consequently, we can only compare the energy consumption between buildings in the regions of similar climates. If the two headquarters are located in the areas that have totally different climates, the energy consumption cannot be used as an indicator of construction companies’ performance.

Last but not least, the mentioned headquarters were built ten years ago. The performance of Alpha and Zeta at this time can be dramatically different from the previous decade. The memo states that Alpha has a little employee turnover but it does not mention about the workforce of Zeta. The Zeta Company may have re-organized their organization and hired a lot of new talent employees, so its current performance can be far much better than the Alpha company. Accordingly, the author should not assume that the performances of these two companies are the same as they were ten years ago. Instead, he should find the latest information about these companies to use as references.

All in all, the memo is based on many assumptions and if some of these assumptions prove unwarranted, the memo’s claim will be flawed.