The following appeared in a memo from the vice president of marketing at Dura-Sock, Inc.

"A recent study of our customers suggests that our company is wasting the money it spends on its patented Endure manufacturing process, which ensures that our socks are strong enough to last for two years. We have always advertised our use of the Endure process, but the new study shows that despite our socks' durability, our average customer actually purchases new Dura-Socks every three months. Furthermore, our customers surveyed in our largest market, northeastern United States cities, say that they most value Dura-Socks' stylish appearance and availability in many colors. These findings suggest that we can increase our profits by discontinuing use of the Endure manufacturing process."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Merely based on groundless assumption and suspicious evidence the arguer material draws a conclusion that the company should stop using the Endure manufacturing process to increase the profits. To substantiate the conclusion, the arguer points out evident that the recent study shows that the customers think it is wasting money to spend on the Endure manufacturing process. Additionally, he indicates that the Endure is useless because of the frequent re-buy of the customers. Plausible as it is, a further reflection reveals that it bases on some dubious assumptions.

First unless the surveyors sampled a adequate number of customers and did so randomly across the entire region, the investigation results are not reliable to gauge that the customers consider the useless of Endure generally. Specifically if the surveyors just ask less than 10 people to answer the question it is obviously that the survey is unreliable. Lacking of the sample will lead to a inaccurate result easily. For example there is just these 10 people think the Endure is useless amount 1000 people. Even though, to some extent, it is true there is another people that whether the people they investigated can represent the people who buy the Dora-Sock. If some of them do not really bought the Sock and they think the manufacturing is unnecessary because they do not actually know the production.

Second the arguer's recommendation relies on that the average purchase of new Socks which is unwarranted to result in the poor endurance of the product. It is possible that the customer by the Socks frequently because their favor of the product rather than wear out the socks. Additionally less people will rebuy the product which is in inferior quality. Even if it is because of wearing out the average number cannot represents the frequent buying of the Sock's. One possible reason is that the customers bought a lot in one time and used for a long period of time. However the arguer simply concludes the customers wear out three Socks per mouth.

Third the author fails to recognize the correlation between the customs' favorite of the appearance and the use of Endure. For instance, the appearance can attracts customers to buy the Sock because it can be seen as them buy it but the endurance of the Sock can not show up until a long time after wearing it. Therefore the customers will have more interests on the appearance rather than the quality. Moreover if we take away the Endure manufacturing process there might be more complaint about the poor endurance of the production. Hence the sales may have a remarkable decrease let alone increasing the profits.

To put it in a nutshell, this arguer fails to confirm its claim because the evidence cited in the analysis does not lend effective support to what the arguer maintains. To make the argument more persuasive, the arguer would have to offer more information with regard to the validity of the survey and the real fact that can affect the profits of the product. Therefore, if the argument had included the given factors mentioned above, it would been more thorough and logically acceptable.