The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of juniper cafe , a small, local coffee shop in the downtown area of a small American city :" we must reduce overhead here at the cafe .Instead of opening at 6 a.m. weekdays , we will now open at 8 a.m

The café owner predicted that by reducing working hours, he could save money and remain in business without having to eliminate jobs. The argument given was that the owner could save utility cost, employee wages and other operating cost during closure.

The first question that needs to be answered to assess the reasonableness of both the prediction and the argument is whether reducing working hours will affect the café’s business. For example, customers might want to drop by for breakfast between 6-8am before work. Since the opening hours start at 8am, the business might be affected. Although reducing working hours save cost, but the café may lose many customers, thus losing more money than it should. If reducing working hours will affect business, this prediction will not stand.

The second question is based on the reasonability of the prediction. It may be reasonable for the owner in order to cut cost, but it may not be reasonable for the employees. To assess reasonability, it is important to take everyone’s situation into account. This prediction may not favour the employees because reducing working hours mean reducing pay, hence employees may not be happy with this decision. Therefore, reducing working hours is not the best strategy to save money.

The third question is whether there any other competing cafes. It is important to do a survey before making any decision. If other nearby cafés provide longer opening hours that suit the customers, the business in Juniper Café will definitely decrease drastically. Hence, the owner’s prediction that reducing opening hours will remain business may not stand.

As a conclusion, the owner of Juniper Café should do a survey about nearby cafes and a survey with the customers before making the decision to reduce opening hours. Also, in order to not lose business as well as ‘good’ employees, the owner should think of other ways to cut cost. For example, closing the café during the most inactive period.