The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"Because of declining profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Raising prices is not a good option, since we are famous for our low prices. Instead, we should reduce our operating hours. Last month our store in downtown Marston reduced its hours by closing at 6:00 p.m. rather than 9:00 p.m. and reduced its overall inventory by no longer stocking any DVD released more than five years ago. Since we have received very few customer complaints about these new policies, we should now adopt them at all other Movies Galore stores as our best strategies for improving profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendations of the owner of Movies Galore is interesting and logical, but contains lots of holes, and needs to answer few fudamental question, to be effective and produce desired results.

The author claims about decline in profits but the reason for the decline of profits is unknown, this gives rise to a very fundamental question, was the decline in profits due to poor performance or was it due to economic conditions of the country? because, if there is an economic unrest in the country, and the rates of basic needs have increased nobody is going to rent the movies (which obviously is not basic need). This would obviously cause losses to the movie stores. If the author have an answer to this question then the recommendation may prove somewhat effective provided with other questions answered, if not, then the whole recommendation falls apart and fails miserably.

The author calims to have increased the profit by reducing the operating expenses in a store at downtown Marston by closing the store at 6:00 P.M. instead of 9:00 P.M, the recommendation though interesting cannot gurantee sucess at the other outlet, what is the gurantee that the customer at the other outlets would arrive before 6:00 P.M?. It might be a general trend in downtown where customer generally come before 6:00 P.M, same cannot be guranteed at the other outlet. It might be the case at certian outlet that the customer generally arrive between 6:00 P.M to 9:00 P.M, in that case the recommendation, instead of providing the solution to the problem will lead to further losses to the company. If the authors does the research about the consumer behaviour at the different outlets i.e. In which period of time most of the customer arrive at different store? and then plans to close the store according to the preferred time then the reccomendation may prove beneficial.

The owner claims to have incurred profits by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago, which is a good idea but it is unlikely to provide same results at the other stores.What is gurantee that the customers at the other stores would also like to watch recently released movies?. It is obvious that not everyone has same taste for movies, It is likely that the customers at some outlet prefer watching old movies. In this case the reccomendation will not produce desired effect. If the owner analayses about the different kind of customers and their taste of movies at different outlet and based of that analysis he decides to maintain the stock of the movies then the recommendation is likely to produce desired effect.

If the recommendation is modified and answer's all the above question then it is likely to produce desired results.