The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores."In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous f

The owner of the Movies Galore argues that this chain movie-rental stores should take some similar actions of the store located at downtown Marston. Firstly, they closed the store at 6:00 PM instead of 9:00 PM which many other stores did. Moreover, they reduced the stock of the films in the way of dispose the movies released over five years. While there are more evidence needed to prove this feasibility to other chain stores in that the statement is problematic, there are some loopholes in it, we need to evalutate them carefully.

To begin with, the possiblity of keep the good reputation of the chain store is in question. On one hand, the author wants to convince us that the moive-rental stores were popular with their low rental price, thus it would not be feasible to raise the price. While there is no further evidence to show us the price is certain to be maitained at this level. Moreover, the author may neglect other features of the stores which were welcomed by comsumers. Maybe the main reason of the stores for their popularity was the comprehensive stock of movies which, on the other hand, could be the reason for the fame of the stores.

Thus, secondly, the author contends that reducing movie stock could be a useful solution to stop the decline of the company, while in this point , the author assumes that the consumers are all in favor of new movies instead of the old ones. While this view of points should be supported by more evidence in that whether the consumers sharing the same taste of movie is still uncertain. Thus this solution is not convincing.

What's more, changing the operating time of the chain store, according to the author, as another solution of stop the recent decline in the profits is not unasssailable in that the assumption of the author that all of the stores may benefit from this shift of operating time is not compelling. As there are no more further evidence to prove the similarities of all the other stores.

Finally, as the atuhor concerns that there was a decline in profits of the chain stores, we have no more information of this lost in profits. Firstly ,we are not aware of the severeness of this decline, thus the assumption of the author that the new stategey would brought more benefit is not convincing. Secondly, we are not aware of the detail of the decline , thus we could not figure out where went wrong of this chain stores, so the assumption cited by the author could not be supported well by the evidence metioned in the statement.

In conclusion, I totally comprehend the owner of the chain stores, while the assumption of the author is in question. As there are no compelling evidence to support the statement, the author should take more wide survey both of the stores and the rental-movie markets.