The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 PM rather than 9:00 PM and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores”.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memorandum from the owner of "Movies Galore" which is a chain of video rental stores, it is suggested that to offset the recent decrease in their profits, it is a must for them to reduce the operational expenditures of the stores. In support of the conclusion, some information are provided of one of the video stores. The argument is rife with questions that needs to answered to make it a convincing argument.

First of all, How is one store's closing time should be standard? One of the stores of Movies Galore, started to close at 6P.M instead of 9P.M. It is assumed that this change should be made to other stores too. Maybe, this is paricular store is not effected by this decision because of the demographic that rents the video from that particular store do not come after 6PM frequently. But, the customer of the other rental stores may not have the same routine. Perhaps, most of them come to the store after 6P.M. Without a proper study or data behind this statement, the evaluation can not be made. Only with a statistical data, the statement can be fully measured. If these are true, then the argument is significantly weakened.

Additionally, Why should the old movies be eradicated in all the stores? One of the stores eradicated the movies from five years ago. Maybe most of the customer span of that store are teenegers and young people. They do not watch the older movies than the newer ones. This may be true for that one particular store, but it is horribly wrong to extrapolate that one set of data for all the other stores. Maybe, there is a strong prediliction toward the older movies of a certain Movie Galor's customers. Then this elimination of the older movie may lead to a worse declination of profits. This again needs data and empirical evidences. Without evidences, this argument does not hold any water.

Thirdly, Why the quality of the movies and the instransigent notion toward the prices of the movies not addressed? The owner is rigid about their prices that the lower prices is the only thing that set them apart from the other rental stores. This may be true that cheap prices is the benchmark or trademark of Movies Galore. But, the other aspect should be considered, perhaps other rental stores have increased the prices significantly whereas they are still operating with their medival prices. This may be one of the reason that they are not meeting their profit goals. Another reason can be the video quality of the movies, other stores maybe providing a better quality for the same movie. These need to be assesed before jumping the gun of considering the reduction of operational expenses.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is flawed with unwarrented assumptions. There are several questions need to be answered in order to make the argument a cogent one.