The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether implementing the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result and explain how the answers to those questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has stated that reducing the operating expenses would reverse the decline in the profits recently. Although it seems to be positive idea, it is not completely agreeable. Operating time is asynchronous with his intention of increasing the profits. Since profit is all about how much is the gain in return to the number of stocks sold but not about the time for which the sale is open. Also, supporting to my previous statement he has not mentioned the quantity of stocks sold before and after cutting down the operating time in one of his store. Thus,leaving a room for lot of conclusions that can be debated upon as follows.

considering the fortuitous outcome of cutting down the operating time of one store in Martson, the author has decided to implement this to his nine other stores. Although his explanation about cutting down the operating time is quite convincing he has also stated that old stock was eliminated. Which brings into light that the owner has over-sighted the fact that the store held new stock alone at a low price which would be quite attractive to the customers thus promisingly improving the sales. Also considering the gains in one store cannot bring the same outcomes in other stores. Thus survey of people's interests in different geographic locations should be accounted before enforcing similar conclusion.

In his memo he has also mentioned that he aims to increase the profits without affecting the original prices of the stocks. This statement should be venerated since the author is scrupulous about the reputation the company holds which is good sign. But offering new movies for very old price wouldn't fetch prolific gains he is ambitious about. Despite of cutting down the sale time, I would suggest that, selling the old movies at a very cheaper rates and special discounts would attract customers in promising numbers.