The following appeared as part of an article in a magazine devoted to regional
life.
“Corporations should look to the city of Helios when seeking new business
opportunities or a new location. Even in the recent recession, Helios’s
unemployment rate was lower than the regional average. It is the industrial center
of the region, and historically it has provided more than its share of the region’s
manufacturing jobs. In addition, Helios is attempting to expand its economic base
by attracting companies that focus on research and development of innovative
technologies.”
Discuss how well reasoned... etc.
In this argument corporations are urged to consider the city of Helios when seeking a new location or new business opportunities. To
support this recommendation, the author points out that Helios is the industrial center of the region, providing most of the region’s
manufacturing jobs and enjoying a lower-than-average unemployment rate. Moreover, it is argued, efforts are currently underway to
expand the economic base of the city by attracting companies that focus on research and development of innovative technologies. This
argument is problematic for two reasons
To begin with, it is questionable whether the available labor pool in Helios could support all types of corporations. Given that Helios has
attracted mainly industrial and manufacturing companies in the past, it is unlikely that the local pool of prospective employees would be
suitable for corporations of other types. For example, the needs of research and development companies would not be met by a labor
force trained in manufacturing skills. For this reason, it’s unlikely that Helios will be successful in its attempt to attract companies that
focus or research and development of innovative technologies.