The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The aritcle posits that it there is a relationship between first born primates and having higher levels of cortisol which is a hormone that is released during exciting or stimulating events. The study only included a sample of 18 rhesus monkies, and then jumped to the fact that this same phenomona is seen in first born human children, and mother monkeys that have given birth for the 1st time. The first glaring issue with this argument is that, the sample size is very specific and fairly small, and it is compared to two other instances found in very different populations, thus tracking the validity of this phenomena is difficult given the lack of and variation in data. Furthermore, the old addage correlation does not equal casuation is warented here. Perhaps there is something that is linking this higher amount of cortisol, but a better catalyst might be age of the primate and not just birth order.

The first bit of evidence given is that , 1st born monkeys were shown to produce higher levels of cortisol, when stimulated than did their younger siblings. Well, there are two factors at play here, the primate was born first, but also the primate is older than the sibblings it is being compared to. So, a way of conducting a less variable study would be to test all of the primates, in a family at the same age. For example, test the first born’s cortisol levels at 8 weeks old, then test the next born primate’s cortisol levels at 8 weeks old, if the levels are the same, and they are compared to the levels of a younger primate, perhaps it is age and not birth order that is effecting these levels. Certainly, more than 13 primates would need to be tested, and age of testing should always be the same during the experiment. Another way of trying this experiment would be to test one group of first borns at the same age, and then test another group of 1st borns all at a same age which is older or younger than the first group. Either way, more than one factor should be considered before it is concluded that the correlation between birth order and cortisol levels is also the causation of the elevated levels.

Similarly, a study in humans, should be performed in the same way. Again, it would need to be determined if it is age, or birth order that is causing the difference in cortisol levels. The last exapmple and argument in the article is an insteresting one. The fact that primates that are first time mothers, produced more cortisol, does seem to suggest that it is something about the first born, that effects the hormone levels in the mother. Then again, age can should still be considered. Variance in the age at which monkeys give birth might not vary as much as it does in humans, but it most likely still varies, there for, testing 1st time mothers at the same age, would be an important step in determining the valididty of this hypothesis.

Over all, this article has presented too many variables and not enough data to in order to make it’s conclusion convincing. The correlation between coritsol levels and birth order is interesting, but the causation behind the variance in cortisol levels is the real question. A well researched and tested answer to that question would be much more significant that an interesting correlation.