The following appeared in a recommendation from the planning department of the city of Transopolis.

"Ten years ago, as part of a comprehensive urban renewal program, the city of Transopolis adapted for industrial use a large area of severely substandard housing near the freeway. Subsequently, several factories were constructed there, crime rates in the area declined, and property tax revenues for the entire city increased. To further revitalize the city, we should now take similar action in a declining residential area on the opposite side of the city. Since some houses and apartments in existing nearby neighborhoods are currently unoccupied, alternate housing for those displaced by this action will be readily available."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author of the argument suggests adaptation of a urban renewal program to revitalize the city of transopolis. But his argument lacks considerable amount of supporting evidence. He has to provide information about the city’s current physical area and also information about economic and social conditions of the city, now and ten years ago.

First of all, author cites a urban renewal program that was adapted by transopolis ten years ago and comes to a conclusion that similar renewal program should be undertaken now to revitalize the city. Hence, author implicitly assumes that the economic and social conditions currently prevailing in the city are same as that they were ten years ago when urban renewal program was adapted. This assumption is wrong. Thus, for author to strengthen his argument he must provide adequate analogies between past and current social and economic conditions. Previously, when urban renewal program was adapted there might be severe unemployment in the city, thus construction of factories helped tackle unemployment and lead to upliftment of the city. But now, city might not be facing any problem of unemployment and thus constructing more factories will not have similar effect on conditions of cities as it had ten years ago. Therefore, adequate information regarding past and present social and economic condition must be given by author to come to any solid conclusion.

Also, author asserts that similar measures as taken ten years ago should be taken now in the opposite part of the city in a declining residential area. But author has not provided any information about the current state of Transopolis city. For instance, ten years ago when renewal measures were taken, transopolis might have been a small city and thus the renewal program consequently benefited the entire city. But now, after ten years, transopolis might be a huge city with very large expanse and hence adaptation of renewal program in one part of the city might not help the entire city and thus bring no significant change in prevailing conditions of the city. Therefore, to make his argument more persuasive, author must provide information about current expanse of the Transopolis city.

Thus in conclusion, authors argument is weak as it lacks vital evidence. Author must provide information about the city’s current expanse and its current prevailing social and economic conditions. He also needs to provide information about conditions prevailing in the city ten years ago when urban renewal program was adapted and highlight some similarities between past and current conditions of the city. But as such now, author's argument is flawed and not persuasive.