The following appeared on theWeb site Science News Today.

“In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors.”

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

Family relations have become a subject of broad interest and scrutiny in the United States as of later. There are those who dispute the favorable effects brought about by dining together and those who affirm them. There are those who assert that sharing meals with relatives reinforces important cognitive values and those who believe dining has little impact on the early development in teens. In the preceding statement, the author ineffectively argues that sharing meals with family members prevents teens from engaging in derogatory behaviors. Although the author's claim may well have merit, he presents a poorly reasoned argument built upon several questionable premises and assumptions that do not hold up under a higher level of scrutiny. Bases solely on the evidence at hand, we cannot accept his conclusion.

The primary concern with the author's reasoning lies in his unsubstantiated assumptions. Teenagers who spend their nights at home may well be subject to other influences that could impact their personal growth. If a child is subjected to abuse, sharing multiple meals a week could effectively undermine their accomplishments due to higher levels of stress. The author undermines his argument by failing to expand on the links between interpersonal family relationships and good behavior he assumes exist.

Furthermore, the author draws several other inferences that remain debatable at best. The author assumes all children amongst all families are equally well-nourished. It is possible that children who spend more time astray - in the company of others - are not fed properly and simply deplete their sources of energy faster. This lack of energy could, in fact, lead to a lower self-esteem and higher rates of depression. According to this line of reasoning, the fact that children are properly fed is much more important than the fact they are fed at home. The author's premise, the foundation for his argument, proves devoid of legitimate evidentiary support and renders his conclusion unsatisfactory.

Apart from relying on unfounded hypotheses, the author camouflages his lack of evidence by equivocating throughout his argument. In order to present a more accurate case, the author would have to conduct more extensive research on the families that were surveyed. Without knowing the genetic make-up of the family, it is unacceptable to draw any conclusion. The use of ambiguous language guarantees that the scope and validity of the cited research remain unclear.

Notwithstanding the dubious information and logical fallacies, the author's argument is not entirely untenable. Children who spend more time at home are allotted less time away with friends, who may or may not be a negative influence. In order to come to the right conclusion, any external influences children face away from home must be researched and subjected to the same amount of scrutiny. Futhermore, without citing actual statistics or precise numbers, it is unclear how much teens have actually improved by consuming their meals at home. Even though the author's reasoning at present proves problematic, he could further strengthen his argument by conducting more extensive research and expanding on several inconsistencies.

In summary, the author's fallacious reasoning rests on unfounded premises and assumptions that render his conclusion invalid. By not researching outside factors or specific numbers of improvement, this opinion remains unproven. If the author hopes to present a strong case on the issue, he would have to largely restructure his argument and provide clear evidentiary support. Without these revisions, his viewpoint will remain largely negated.