The following appeared on the Website Science News Today.

"In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol. Family meals were also associated with higher grades, better self-esteem, and lower rates of depression. Almost 30 percent of the teens said they ate at least seven meals per week with their families. Clearly, having a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument stated above is faulty for numerous reasons. Essentially, the evidence offered to argue the main claims of the argument are not as cogent as they appear. Concluding a high number of family meals keeps teens from engaging in bad behaviors based on a superficially discussed study and ignoring other aspects of a teen’s environment, is unreasonable.

Firstly, the author fails to provide evidence to support the study referred to in the argument. The author does not mention how the survey in the study was conducted. Self-reporting surveys revolve around researchers interviewing individuals and concluding results based off of the answers given by the interviewee. But self-reporting surveys are prone to individuals being untruthful or not firmly fixed on an answer when questioned. If the survey subsumed in the argument was an interview of teens, then this could render the study as unreliable because there is no method to verify the answers of individuals question and the use of the study in the argument would make the argument unjust. On the other hand, if the author presented the specifics of the study and how it was conducted, the argument would deem to be more plausible. In either case, there is no way to measure the truth of the answers given by the interviewees.

Additionally, the argument neglects to address other issues presented. Imagine there is a credible method to measure the answers given by the teens in the survey, it is still baseless to conclude teens that have more family meals are less inclined to engage in bad behaviors, solely depending on the study. So, the author continues to speculate other factors are not playing a role in the results of the study. For example, children with good grades can have peers that also are likely to pay more attention to schoolwork which could encourage friends in the same friend group to engage in school-related activities. So, these children are having meals with their families but are there are other factors that could be impacting their behavior that are being ignored. Not only this, but if a teen exposed to drugs and alcohol at home but still has meals with the family, this could influence them to experiment as well. The author also does not take additional aspects of an individuals into consideration. Because the argument does not take into account multiple factors of an individual’s lifestyle, the argument is weakened. However, if the arguer included factors such as types of friends or access to drugs and alcohol, the argument would hold more validity. But even so, it is difficult to account for all factors contributing to an individual’s life.

Lastly, the argument is built upon undescriptive statements. For instance, the author states “In a recent survey of more than 5,000 adolescents, the teens who reported eating the most meals with their families were the least likely to use illegal drugs, tobacco, or alcohol.” But it is not mentioned the sample size the author included in the study. There is a possibility that the total population that was considered in the study was 50,000. This would mean that 5000 teens out of 50,000 were less likely to engage in bad behavior but this is only 10% of the sample size, which is not significant enough to conclude the likelihood to disengage in these activities were because these individuals had family meals.

As a result of the various unwarranted presumptions made by the argument, the author fails to compile a compelling case to prove children engaging in good behaviors is due to family meals.