The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the argument, the author concludes that the construction of road access along the edge of wetlands will negatively affect biodiversity and healthy environment. This conclusion he made based on certain premises which of proven would hold water. However, such assumptions are not viable based on the three reasons.

Firstly, the author assumes that the road construction will enable access to the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg which will in turn contribute to the decline of tufted groundhog. For instance, the author assumes that human contact is detrimental to the life of the groundhog. What happens if studies shows that human and tufted groundhog relationship is not one that affects the former?

In addition, the author assumes that no other factors contribute to the decline of tufted groundhogs in the terrain. What happens if it's proven that certain animals feed on tufted groundhogs and that the population of this animals are significantly high? Take for instanc that the weather condition at this particular location is not good for the groundhogs or climate change has affected the wetlands region of Lansburg and this affected the population under study? This will no doubt undermines the premises on which the argument is based.

Lastly, the author assumes that the living condition resulting from the the decline at both Lansburg and Eastern Carpenteria are the same. This assumption seems very unlikely. If for example, tufted groundhogs at Eastern Carpenteria are subjected harsh weather conditions or there was pollution