The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

The following argument recommends that making a road along the edge of the wetlands will harm the biodiversity and environmental health of Lansburg sanctuary. This argument is flawed because it is based on many unwarranted assumption. Primarily the argument is based on the underlying assumption that the development of road along the edge of wetlands will have a direct impact on the sanctuary. It also has flaws such as statistical flaw and unjustified comparisons.

Firstly the argument assumes that decline in sea otter population due to repeal in the sanctuary status of Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria

will repeat itself in the case of making the road along the wetland . As it will hamper the biodiversity of Lansburg sanctuary, but the comparison being made here between the scenarios is not justified. There is no information given by the argument to support the claim that making a road on the edge will have drastic impact equivalent to repealing a sanctuary status. If the argument would have given the evidence to support the fact such as distance of the place where the road is being constructed the argument would have been stronger. Missing information such as the extent pf impact of construction work on the wildlife in Lansburg sanctuary make the argument unconvincing.

Meanwhile, even if we consider that a similar impact will be there due to both of these scenarios the argument leaves many other questions unanswered. The argument makes a comparison between the species such as tufted groundhog found in Lansburg sanctuary with sea otter found in sanctuary status of Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria but no information has been provided in the argument to corroborate this comparison. If the argument had given the chracterstics of both of these species or the similarity in their features of life style we would have been in better position to assess the argument.

Furthermore, the argument also uses vague numbers with no underlying base line for comparison. Such as the argument mentions that Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions, but we do not know anything about their current population or reason for the decrease in the population, if it happened. Insofar, the argument lacks the recent numbers to support the claim that the groundhog population even facing a crisis. In absence of this data the argument does not have a firm grounding.

Therefore, from the examples given above we can conclude that in absence of data and information to support the unjustified comparisons made by the argument between the two sanctuaries, and the species inhabited in these sanctuaries, the argument remains unconvincing.