The following appears in a letter to the editor for the West Lansburg News:

"The tufted groundhog lives in the coastal wetlands of West Lansburg. Ancient records suggest that the tufted groundhog once numbered in the millions. Since they were declared a wildlife sanctuary in 2004, development along the coastal wetlands has been prohibited. Now local development interests are lobbying for the West Lansburg council to allow an access road to be built along the edge of wetlands. Neighboring Eastern Carpenteria, which had a similar sanctuary, has seen its sea otter population decline since the repeal of its sanctuary status in 1978. In order to preserve the region's biodiversity and ensure a healthy environment, the West Lansburg council should not allow the road to be built."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author claims that the West Lansburg council must not permit a road construction along the edge of the wetlands as it may result in decline of biodiversity and quality of environment as in Eastern Carpenteria. I do not agree with the author on this decision for the following reasons.

The author has taken the example of Eastern Carpenteria to illustrate the effects that the construction of a road along the edge of the wetlands may have on the sanctuary. However, the argument is not sturdy as the reasons for decline in the sea otter population are not mentioned. Hence, it is not safe to assume that that the decline was due to some form of human intervention. There is surely a high possibility that the decline may have been due to other reasons that the author has not touched upon. These reasons must be explored.

Furthermore, the writer mentioned that the status of sanctuary was repealed for Eastern Carpenteria. This leads to the question of why such an action occurred in the first place? It is a possibility that the officials were not doing a good job in the maintenance for the welfare of the biodiversity. The status may have been revoked to ensure further freedom for the fauna in the habitat. Providing evidence about the reasons for revocation would help in weakening the argument.

The author must also consider the situation of more neighboring sanctuaries in order to strengthen his argument. Deciding on the basis of only one other example is not sufficient.

Finally, details about the usage of the access road if it is built will be helpful to make a knowledgeable decision. This would factor in the trouble it may cause to the sanctuary and assessments can be made about the impact that the road may have on the ecology.

Once the above insights are noted the author can take a well-informed stance on the notion as compared to before.