The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial: "The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering. Country cannot be checked, both it's economy and national indentity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin"

The argument that the autonomy of a country is based on the strength of its borders; if the influx of illegal immigrants cannot be checked is not entirely cogent as the argument rests on certain assumptions that are not properly constructed.

To begin with, the argument presents a causal analogy, that the presence of illegal immigrants translates into endangering its economy and its national identity. However, on a closer look, the argument does not provide clear pieces of evidence, if any, on how this happens. What has been the economic situation in the past? How does that measure in comparison to what is obtainable at present and how does the presence of the immigrants allow for a strain on the country's economy and national identity?

Secondly, the argument fails to mention how it does not cater to its border porosity. What have been efforts made to check-mate the actions of immigration forces at the borders? Instead of investing resources to return them back to their country, which would also present a strain on the economy, what are the duties in ensuring that the entrance of such immigrants in the first place? Are there possibilities of graft?...do people pay their way in at checkpoints or are the manpower not enough to check these occurrences? All of these are what the assumptions made by the author fail to address.

On a final note, the argument also fails to address the possibilities of inadequacies in its policies. The surge of illegal immigrants might be due to intricacies in the normal migration policies of the country leading to damning escapades by prospective immigrants. By looking into the afore-mentioned scenario, the country assumes a position where it saves itself from unnecessary efforts which might be termed racist to return illegal migrants. This way, prospective immigrants would find it unnecessary going through illegal means.

Thus, the evidence provided so far to reach this conclusion has been proving unwarranted because of the assumptions already explained in the previous paragraphs.

Ultimately, the argument might have been strengthened if in making those assumptions, the author considers other factors that might be responsible for the presence of illegal immigrants in the country and efforts made to strengthen the border rather than a wild goose chase of repatriation.