The following editorial appeared in the Broomall County Times-Picayune:

"The Gordon Act, which established a wildlife refuge in the Big Dark Swamp, is currently up for reauthorization. The act prohibits the building of roads or cutting of old growth trees in the swamp, though it permits hunting. Many blamed logging activities for the decline of the bird population, especially that of the dappled grackle. The grackle population has continued to decline since the passage of the law, demonstrating that the Gordon Act has not been sufficient to protect the species. Another nearby refuge, the Wayne County Marsh Habitat, bans all mining, logging, and hunting. Wayne County officials have not reported a decline in the grackle population there. This proves that hunting, not logging, was responsible for the population drop in Broomall County. Thus, Broomall County should not reauthorize the Gordon Act unless it is amended to include the same provisions as those in Wayne County."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author claims that the Gordon Act must not be reauthorized unless amendments are made to mimic the rules of Wayne County. The reason being that hunting is the main culprit for the decline in population of the grackle species. The arguments made are however are stretched and not compelling. There are many avenues to think about and questions to be answered before concluding as the author did. Hence the reasoning is flawed.

The editorial suggests that the grackle population continues to decline after the passage of the Gordon Act and that it did not suffice to protect the species. The basis of the reasoning is however not solid. The decline may not have been due to hunting as the writer suggests as there is no evidence of the same. Other factors may have contributed towards it. The climate may have drastically changed, affecting the living conditions and causing an early death or nearby air and water bodies may have been polluted due to effluents from factories, oil spills or certain noxious elements released by errors. There might even be a carnivore lurking in the vicinity feasting on the grackle. Had the author provided strong evidence that lenient measures led to the population decline, the argument would have been stronger.

An analogy has been made between Big Dark Swamp in Broomall County and Marsh Habitat in Wayne County. Albeit the two are nearby, there is no compelling reason to believe that measures applied in one county will certainly benefit if applied to the other. It may be that mining and hunting are not even possible in Broomall County and hence they could not even be considered as reasons for decline in population. Perhaps the officials made an error in reporting the true population of the grackle in Wayne County, which would completely invalidate this argument. The author could have argued why the two counties are similar and thereby obtained a stronger reasoning.

Furthermore, if the act is not reauthorized as the officials do not wish to amend the act, the predicament may worsen. Organizations may start building roads for convenience reasons and the deforestation involved in the process can highly impact the bird population. Lesser trees mean fewer homes for the aerial animals. Perhaps if the author let the act be reauthorized whether or not an amendment is made, this situation could be avoided.

The argument made is flawed as the the author makes an invalid comparison and deduces a conclusion that cannot be obtained from the stated facts. Therefore, the reasoning can be improved by providing evidence for the analogy and reasoning for why hunting is responsible for the decline in population of birds in Broomall County.