The following is a letter to the editor of an environmental magazine.

"In 1975 a wildlife census found that there were seven species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, with abundant numbers of each species. However, in 2002 only four species of amphibians were observed in the park, and the numbers of each species were drastically reduced. There has been a substantial decline in the numbers of amphibians worldwide, and global pollution of water and air is clearly implicated. The decline of amphibians in Xanadu National Park, however, almost certainly has a different cause: in 1975, trout—which are known to eat amphibian eggs—were introduced into the park."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The letter claims that the introduction of trout is the cause for the species of amphibians in Xanadu National Park to dramatically decline considering trout is known to eat amphibian eggs. At first glance, the conclusion seems to be reasonable. However, due to insubstantial evidence, the argument is unsound.

First, to evaluate the argument, the evidence needed is about the extent to which the local pollution of water and air has on amphibians. The letter mentioned the global contamination of water and air is related to the tremendous decrease of amphibians worldwide; yet, it does not provide any evidence to prove that the local pollution condition has nothing to do with the big drop in the number of amphibians. Without clarification, as the global pollution has done to amphibians, the regional contamination could be the reason that amphibians have dramatically dwindled. If this proves to be true, that is, if the local pollution results in the decline in the number of amphibians, the argument in the letter is unfounded.

Furthermore, to determine the plausibility, the letter needs to substantiate that the amount of trout is considerable enough to cause the tremendous decrease of the amphibians. To extinct three species completely and cause the number of left ones to curtail dramatically, if solely by trout, there have to be a large number of them to eat the eggs. Without justifying the quantity of trout, it could be that the introduced trout may not adapt to the local ecosystem so well. Consequently, its population is not big enough to severely threatening the amphibians. If it is confirmed, the author’s conclusion on trout’s impact on the amphibians is not credible.

Finally, if the argument were to be convincing, the letters has to corroborate that there are no other potential predators of amphibians, which could possibly contribute to the consequential abatement of amphibians. In the letter, it says that trout eats amphibian eggs. They therefore are the reason. Nevertheless, there could be other species that also eat amphibian or their eggs. If it is true, the letter is not reasonable to attribute the cause to trout only.

In conclusion, trout could be the reason that the number of amphibians has decreased dramatically. However, to justify the argument, it needs to provide the aforementioned evidence. Otherwise, the conclusion given by the letter is not cogent.