The following is a letter to the editor of the Glenville Gazette, a local newspaper.

"Over the past few years, the number of people who have purchased advance tickets for the Glenville Summer Concert series has declined, indicating lack of community support. Although the weather has been unpredictable in the past few years, this cannot be the reason for the decline in advance ticket purchases, because many people attended the concerts even in bad weather. Clearly, then, the reason for the decline is the choice of music, so the organizers of the concert should feature more modern music in the future and should be sure to include music composed by Richerts, whose recordings Glenville residents purchase more often than any other contemporary recordings. This strategy will undoubtedly increase advance ticket purchases and will increase attendance at the concerts."

The editor of the local newspaper states that the number of people purchased the advance tickets for the Gleniville Summer Concert series has declined and for this he assumed that it is indicating the lack of community support.And he justified his assumption by another assumption that is decline of choice of music from the people.And he suggests the organizers in the future purpose by including of modern music composed by Richerts which would undoubtedly ameliorate the purchase of advance tickets by Glenville residents.I find this argument absolutely illogical, defective, and irrational due to its inherent weakness.

Weaknesses in the Argument:

Firstly,the assumption he made by the editor was the reason for declining of the purchase of advance tickets for the Gleville Summer Concert series which indicates the lack of community support to concert.How can he infer this only based upon the decline in the advance tickets for concert? there must be proper evidence must be presented even for justifying his assumption.And there may be any other possible reason that could affect the purchase of advance tickets for this Summer concert series.

Secondly, his assumption about the change in the music taste of audience based on the previous years advance purchase of tickets, by justifying this he accounted for an additional statement that previous years people had attended to concert even in the bad weather conditions.So, he concluded that unpredictable weather may not be the reason for decline and only possible one is change of music taste of audience.This can be seemed to a irrational assumption because based on the decline in purchase to advance tickets alone can predict that taste of audiences for music had been changed. There might be a possible case of due to hefty schedules on working hours for employees, or may be the huge economic crisis faced by the people or many other.So, under the lack of any strong evidence to prove this assumption its is seemed to be a irrational assumption.

Thirdly,the suggestion given by the editor on the including of modern music by "Richets" in the concerts can undoubtedly improve the purchase of concert advance tickets than often any other contemporary recordings.On based on which criteria the editor has suggested this advice and how it would improve the purchase of tickets is not at all explained with proper adduce.So this seems to be an weak and illogical assumption.

As i have unravelled the defects in the argument, I strongly recommend the newspaper to withdraw its suggestion,conduct concrete research on the subject before it can provide any genuine advice.